2018: Puget Sound designated as a No Discharge Zone

The Puget Sound No Discharge Zone was established by the Department of Ecology in April. This rule prohibits ships and boats from discharging raw or partially treated sewage across 2,300 square miles of marine waters as well as waters around Lake Washington and Lake Union. After six years of public process and tens of thousands of supportive comments from you and members of our coalition, the rule went into effect on May 10. Puget Sound will now join more than 90 other Zones around the country, including in the Great Lakes and the entire California coast.